Board Meeting Highlights

The National Association of REALTORS® is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of more than 800 members. Most items that come before the full Board originate in committees of subject matter jurisdiction, followed by review in the Executive Committee and the Leadership Team. This was the last meeting for 2018 President Elizabeth J. Mendenhall and for 2018 Treasurer Tom Riley. Retiring Chief Lobbyist Jerry Giovaniello got to bid farewell during his last board meeting, followed by recognition of new Senior Vice President of Advocacy Shannon McGahn and newly hired Chief Marketing and Communications Officer Victoria Gillespie. Pat Ziggy Zicarelli led a REALTOR® vocal ensemble in a patriotic medley to kick off the meeting.

While most votes by directors are near-unanimous, close votes are not unheard of. Until recently, these meetings used voice votes, which worked fine for items that passed by a clear supermajority. But in cases where a voice vote’s outcome was not readily apparent, slow and tedious hand raising or paper voting was required. For the last few years, voting has been done using electronic voting instruments issued to each director,  thereby allowing nearly instant results and certainty of vote totals.

Here are several photos of the highlights of the meetings.  More photos of the Board meeting, may be found here.

4-Time Featured Attendee

Matt is a multi-office broker/owner in Champaign, Illinois, home of the University of Illinois. He is a high producing team leader, a past President of the Champaign County Association of REALTORS®, the 2019 Immediate Past President of the Illinois REALTORS®, a past REALTOR® Magazine “30 Under 30” honoree, and a law school graduate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Conference Live 2018